Here’s who we have winning the American League awards

Here's who we have winning the American League awards

Photo: Getty Images

The Baltimore Orioles farm system is loaded, so it shouldn’t be a shock to see one of the team’s top prospects be a favorite for this award.

The 22-year-old Henderson compiled a .255/.325/.489 slash line with 28 long balls, 29 doubles, 9 triples, 100 runs scored, and 82 RBI — good for 6.3 WAR — for the O’s, who clinched a playoff berth for the first time since 2016. He also stole 10 bases.

According to Stathead, Henderson became the 15th rookie aged 22 or younger to record 65+ extra-base hits, along with Mike Trout, Cal Ripken Jr., Orlando Cepeda, Cody Bellinger, Corey Seager, Frank Robinson, Hanley Ramirez, Dick Allen, and Albert Pujols, who all won Rookie of the Year. Also on that list? Joe D and Teddy Ballgame.

The Alabama native also had this insane stretch earlier this year.

He’d be the first Baltimore player to win this award since Gregg Olsen in 1989. Two previous Oriole RoY winners had Hall of Fame careers: Ripken and Eddie Murray.

Original source here

#Heres #winning #American #League #awards

About the Author

Anthony Barnett
Anthony is the author of the Science & Technology section of ANH.