Keelan Cole made what appeared to be an amazing catch during the Jets’ Week 8 game against the Bengals on Sunday.
Mike White threw a pass to Cole in the left corner of the end zone. Cole was only able to get one hand on it, but he still pulled it in. The play was ruled a touchdown and looked like a catch-of-the-year candidate thanks to Cole’s acrobatics.
There was just one problem. It wasn’t actually a catch.
Upon further review, the referees reversed the call of catch. Why? Because Cole briefly lost control of the ball going to the ground.
As Cole touched down in the end zone, the ball began to slide down his body. He was able to secure it shortly after it moved, but by that point, he had already rolled out of bounds. As such, the call was overturned.
The Jets were still able to score on the drive. White found Braxton Berrios just moments later for a touchdown in virtually the same location as Cole.
The ball slightly shifted in Berrios’ hands while he went out of bounds, so it looked like the Jets may, ironically, suffer the same fate that they did on the Cole play. However, after a brief review, the replay booth chose to uphold the call.
Original source here
#NFL #catch #rule #spoils #Keelan #Coles #Catch #Year #candidate #Jets #Bengals